Book Review: Scarlet – Marissa Meyer

I found this review hiding away somewhere in my computer files, so thought I might as well post it seeing as though I wrote it. Since writing this review, I have actually finished this series and has become one of my most – loved series to date. I fell completely in love with all of the characters and the story line and shed a little tear at the end of ‘Winter’ when it finally hit me that the series was finally over and I wouldn’t be able to read more about the lovely Carswell Thorne. However, ignore my rambling and reminiscing and on with the review!

Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Series: The Lunar Chronicles (#2)
Published: February 5th 2013
Rating: 4/5

‘Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. The police have closed her case. The only person Scarlet 13206760can turn to is Wolf, a street fighter she does not trust, but they are drawn to each other.

Meanwhile, in New Beijing, Cinder will become the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive – when she breaks out of prison to stay one step ahead of vicious Queen Levana.
As Scarlet and Wolf expose one mystery, they encounter Cinder and a new one unravels. Together they must challenge the evil queen, who will stop at nothing to make Prince Kai her husband, her kind, her prisoner…’

Scarlet is the second book in the Lunar Chronicles series. If haven’t read the first book – Cinder –  then I suggest you do because it is brilliant. The Lunar Chronicles are books based on your everyday fairy tales, for example Cinder – Cinderella and Scarlet – Red Riding Hood, but with its own unique twist to the original story, resulting in them being even more lovable and slightly daring.
After reading Cinder I instantly had to get the sequel as it was *that* good and I needed to continue on with this excellent series. Scarlet is a mixture of a sequel to Cinder and a whole new story, linking both of the characters and their story-lines at the end. Although at times the separate story lines were a little difficult to keep up with, it also made it that little bit more engaging as it left you eager to find out what happens to the other characters. However, I did find that I became more interested in Scarlet’s story opposed to Cinder’s, which the majority of the book revolved around, but it didn’t stop it from being any less brilliant.

I really loved Scarlet’s loyalty to the grandmother and her determination to find her despite those around her trying to convince her otherwise, it is very admirable. She is one of those characters that you are rooting for throughout the entire book and hope that she gets a happy ending. Wolf, on the other hand, is a mysterious character with a bit of an edge and mystery to him, with his constant shakes and tapping making you always wonder if there is a secret he is hiding – which we later find out he is!
Cinder’s story is her adventure and mission of trying to stay hidden from Queen Levanas troops and finding out what her mission on Earth is. Thorne – who was newly introduced in this novel, becomes Cinder’s prison break buddy, and although he has a huge ego and sometimes is slightly annoying, you can’t help yourself from liking him. Despite the first half of the book not being as engaging as the second half, it didn’t prevent it from being a highly enjoyable book and kind of helped the reading the process as once you get into it, then that is it there is no stopping you from there. As the book progresses we begin to unravel secrets and discover how the two different characters link, which for me was extremely exciting!

This novel has love, betrayal, death, adventure and magic. In my opinion I don’t really think Meyer missed much out, which is what makes this series of books so interesting. I also love the idea of twisting the original story and Meyer making it her own, with it being inventive and perfect for me as I do have a soft spot when it comes to fairytale retellings.
‘Cress’ is the third book in the series and revolves around the fairytale of Rapunzel and ‘Winter’ (the last in the series *cries*) is based on the story of Snow White.
I absolutely love this series and every single one of the characters, I don’t think you could’ve asked for more when it comes to it, despite more books in the series but I think that is out of the window.
I would highly, highly recommend this is to anyone who loves fairytales and strong females leads with equally admirable side characters.

Leave a Reply

