Dorothy Must Die: Danielle Paige – Book Review

Author: Danielle Paige
Publisher: Harper Collins
Series: Dorothy Must Die #1
Published: April 1st 2014
Rating: 5/5

‘I DIDN’T ASK FOR ANY OF THIS. I DIDN’T ASK TO BE SOME KIND OF HERO.9780062280671
But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know? Sure, i’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. But I never expected Oz to look like this. A place where Good Witches cant be trusted and Wicked Witches may just be the good guys. A place where even the yellow brick road is crumbling.
What happened? Dorothy.
My name is Amy Gumm – and i’m the other girl from Kansas.
I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked and i’ve been given a mission. Remove the Tin Woodman’s heart. Steal the Scarecrows brain. Take the Lion’s heart. And then – Dorothy must die. 

Although I may sound a little cliched, I must say from the moment I saw this book I was pretty excited. As many of you know I am a fan of fairy tale retelling’s and The Wizard of Oz is one of my all time favourite films as a child so I was even more excited! This is a story about the other girl from Kansas who came after Dorothy. Who came back. One of the things I love about this book, besides the content, is the actual make of the book. I know its not really that important and its what on the inside that counts , but it doesn’t hurt anybody. It is a little bigger than your average book and its really floppy, which is perfect for reading in bed, as it just falls perfectly into place and it gives it a rustic kind of feel about it as if it was something that was stumbled upon.
The main character whose name is Amy, is a very likable character whom you feel a connection with from the beginning. With her difficult upbringing and terrible mother, you feel a sense of protection over her and are very sympathetic which allowed me to always be on her side throughout the novel. Other characters from the very popular movie The Wizard of Oz who feature are, of course, the tin-man, lion and scarecrow who change considerably once they get what they want. The tin man is basically the police, and does a very bad job of it, by punishing people for doing ridiculous things such as ‘having too much sass’. The scarecrow, with his marvelous brain, uses it for very bad things and does experiments on people and things, which aren’t for the greater good of the people. The lion who was once the most lovable character, in my opinion, in the movie, has now become the worst; he now has control over everything in the forest and just does what he likes despite the fact he is hurting and even killing people/things. The ‘Wonderful Wizard of Oz’ also makes an appearance, however isn’t in it as much as I would like. As does Glinda who, to my surprise, becomes the wicked one. And not to forget Amy’s sidekick, her Toto. She is a rat and my favourite character.

Of course, any good story isn’t complete without a lovely male character. Nox is this character. He is a mysterious Warlock with a bit of a troubled, who seems very much the handsome charmer, who despite his mixed signals and strange behavior you cant help but love him. The whole novel is full of action, and you just cant put the book down as your determined to find out what happens next. However, to my disappointment I reached the end of the novel only to find it didn’t end there. Fortunately the sequel to this novel ‘The Wicked Will Rise’ is due to be released on 31st March 2015, although this doesn’t seem like a long time to wait before you’ve read the book, once you have it will be the longest wait you will ever have to endure.
I would really recommend this book as I thought it was amazing!

Leave a Reply

