Blog Tour: Weregirl by C.D Bell – Author Q&A

As you may have already realised, I am participating in the blog tour for the upcoming novel ‘Weregirl’ by C.D Bell. As part of this blog tour I have reviewed the book (which you can find here) and have also had the pleasure in doing a Q&A with the author C.D Bell. I was left reading this book with many unanswered questions so was thrilled that I was able to do a Q&A. However, I wanted some things to remain a mystery so I can find them out at the series continues.

Anyhow, here is the Q&A, I hope you enjoy!

1) Is writing something you have always wanted to do?

Absolutely. I can remember stapling together a series of folded pages when I was a little girl and thinking I had the power to change the world.
2) Are we going to be seeing more of Nessa anytime soon? 3) If so, what can we expect?

Yes, I’m already working with Chooseco on a storyline for book two! Expect to see how Nessa’s love life is going to heat up. We’re going to meet members of her family we haven’t yet seen. And we’ll be sure to spend more time with Bree and with wolves, though the story is also likely to expand beyond the Tether city limits.


4) Why did you chose wolves/werewolves as the main topic of your book/series?

First of all, I should explain a little bit about how Weregirl came to be. It was a creative collaboration between me and five smart editors and writers from Chooseco, the small press in Vermont that publishes the Choose Your Own Adventure series. Their editorial team created the idea for Weregirl at a company retreat and brought me in when the major characters were established and the plotting was about halfway done.

So really the question is why Chooseco chose wolves, and the answer is that wolves are awesome. Strong, loyal, social, funny, clever, peace-loving. Whenever you find them in an ecosystem, chances are they’re helping to keep it in balance. They travel in packs, rely on one another for help and support, and know that they can do more together than any individual can do by herself.

 

5) What did you enjoy most about writing the book?

I really loved writing a story that is bold and action-packed. I also loved writing the scenes that take place in the woods around Tether. Maybe because I live in Brooklyn, I always ended up feeling that I had been for a refreshing walk in the woods myself!


6) What made you decide to sit down and start writing this book?

When Chooseco called me and told me about the project, I was immediately intrigued because I had always wanted to work with Chooseco publisher Shannon Gilligan. But it was the story that really drew me in. I loved the idea of Nessa’s talent and strength, of creating an athlete who could be a model for girls reading the books. I felt the plotting had just the right mix of adventure, mystery, emotion and romance.

What kept me going, however, was learning about wolves. I really feel that they are the heart and soul of this story. I’ve always been a huge lover of dogs–I think they reflect back to us the best parts of our humanity and teach us about why it’s important to give and receive love in the world. Wolves embody so many of those great qualities but have a bit more of an edge. They have to survive in the real world, they never get to come in from the cold, they terrify most of us, but when you study them, you see that their fierceness is mostly a show they put on to protect themselves and their families. Not so unlike what so many teens say they have to do to survive high school.

AUTHOR & PUBLISHER BIO:

 

About C. D. Bell:
When she’s not biking the streets of Brooklyn, NY, you can find C. D. Bell writing in a decrepit RV clinging to the side of a hill in upstate New York, trying to teach herself to watercolor, or inventing her own recipes. She is a voracious reader of anything and everything fantasy, supernatural, or romance. And she swears that the monsters she often writes about are not real– at least she hopes not.

Created by a talented team of six female writers and inspired by the working tradition of television writers, C. D. Bell is a Chooseco author pseudonym developed with teen author Cathleen Davitt Bell, who has written I Remember You [Knopf 2015], among other novels for young adults.

The second installment of the WEREGIRL trilogy is already in the works.

About Chooseco:
Chooseco publishes the Choose Your Own Adventure series. Widely commended for its appeal to reluctant readers, the interactive, multiple-choice multiple-ending series is the 4th-bestselling series for children ever published, with more than 265 million copies translated into 38 languages. Chooseco has sold over 10 million copies since the series re-launch in 2006. Weregirl represents Chooseco’s first foray into full-length, non-interactive young adult fiction.

 

SOCIAL MEDIA HANDLES:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/weregirl/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/weregirl_book/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/weregirlbook
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30090014-weregirl
Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/CDBell11
Website: http://weregirl.com/

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Weregirl by C.D Bell – Author Q&A

  1. This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

