Blog Tour: Weregirl – C.D Bell

Author: C.D Bell
Publisher: Chooseco
Series: Weregirl
Published: November 1st 2016
Rating: 3.5/5

Blurb

Nessa Kurland is running for her life. 
C.D. Bell’s WEREGIRLis a fast-paced teen thriller set in Tether, Michigan, a town on the brink of shutdown since it was stripped of its resources by corporate polluter Dutch Chemical.
High school junior, Nessa Kurland, is a cross-country runner with her eyes set on one thing: a college scholarship as her one-way ticket out of Tether.
Talented teammate Cynthia Sinise invites Nessa on a nighttime run through Tether’s overgrown forest trails. But she speeds ahead, leaving Nessa alone to discover a trapped wolf. Nessa tries to free the animal but is badly bitten, seemingly ruining her hopes for a strong fall season with the cross-country team.
Instead, Nessa’s freakishly quick recovery is followed by improved running times. All her senses are heightened. Nessa has transformed. 

She has become a werewolf. 

In her new state, Nessa learns there are things about Tether that powerful people want to keep hidden. Why does a Nobel Laureate work at the small-town medical clinic? Are top college athletic scouts really interested in her emerging talent? Can she trust Chayton, the motorcycle-riding guide her friends have faith in? WEREGIRL‘s Nessa must navigate her junior year and true human darkness, while making peace with her new, wild nature. 


My Review

Hello and welcome to my book review/blog tour of ‘Weregirl’ by C.D Bell.

Upon reading the synopsis for this book, I became increasingly excited to begin reading it. If there’s one thing I love in this world besides cake and dogs, is a book about mythical creatures. I would like to first start off by saying that if you are a fan of the television programme ‘Teen Wolf’ then I can guarantee that you will thoroughly enjoy reading this book, as there are many similarities but at the same time differences making it utterly unique. Although I know it’s completely wrong, but the thing that initially pulled me towards this book was in fact the cover as it’s utterly beautiful and made me want to open it up and see what’s inside. (I’m also a fan of wolves so I may be a little biased).

The book revolves around the life of the aspiring athlete Nessa who was stereo typically bitten by a wolf whilst jogging in the woods, followed by the whole process of actually turning into a wolf – the heightened senses, faster running and the whole looking like a wolf thing. I must admit, one of the things that irritated me slightly when reading this, was how calmly Nessa’s best friend Bree (who I want as my best friend) took the whole ‘transformation’. She was completely cool about it, with there being little reaction to her friend sprouting thick white hair from her body, but it also made me intrigued about Bree’s character and whether there was a hidden past or agenda with her with it suggestive of a commonality with this sort of thing. Hmmm? I have noticed that other bloggers have also commented upon the fact that just like this there are parts of the book that do seem a little thin and need slightly more detail, which I completely agree with.

However, despite the not-so-great-at-times writing (which could be due to the fact that this book was written by several people), the story-line did in fact grip me from start to finish. Minor characters such as the Shaman Chay and the new kid Luc, both had an air of mystery surrounding them and left me wanting more and more of them, which sadly we didn’t get a lot of, but now I’m just more eager to get more of this series! For me, there were two major parts to this book, the part where Nessa was trying to get good at running to get a scholarship to college and the part where the shady new corporation Paravada popped up and started making everything better (or did they?). This part of the book is what sets it aside from other stories about werewolves and makes the book a little somewhat better.I don’t want to spoil anything but this story line is one of the things that makes me want to read the second book even more.

Overall, I did thoroughly enjoy the book although I am left with several unanswered questions and a need to know more. I will most certainly read the sequel and hope that we get to see more of those minor characters which I love ever so much.

Have a lovely day,
Zoe

PURCHASE INFORMATION + LINKS

 WEREGIRL [Chooseco LLC] will be available in hardcover and e-book formats via all online and select brick-and-mortar book retailers as of November 1, 2016. Pre-order your copy today on Amazon or the WEREGIRL website: http://weregirl.com/products/weregirl

Website: http://weregirl.com/

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Weregirl – C.D Bell

Leave a Reply

