Fairyloot Unboxing – December 2016

December 2016 was the month in which I fell in love with bookish subscription boxes. Throughout Twitter and Instagram, I am forever seeing people doing unboxings of amazing monthly subscription boxes and it has always left me wanting to unbox my own. So this month, I decided to scour the internet and find a reasonably priced monthly subscription box based in England (them shipping prices elsewhere are a no from me) and I can across Fairyloot.

I received my first box in the middle of December and I honestly couldn’t have been happier with it. So, I decided to do what all the cool kids on the internet do and post an ‘unboxing’ of what I received in my first (but not last) Fairyloot box. I hope you enjoy!!

15782219_10210349730612868_669248826_n

Every month you will receive a box of bookish goodies (4-6), a recently published Young Adult book and promotional items such as bookmarks and signed bookplates whenever possible, all revolving around a certain theme for that month. In addition to this, you also receive a unique budding reading hashtag that links you up with another person. The theme of this box was ‘Sci-Fi Adventure’ which I was thrilled about, as there is nothing I love more than a bit of science fiction. Below is the card revealing the theme of the month and on the back a list of all the things that can be found in the box.

15782023_10210349704972227_1076020248_n

Now, without further ado, let’s get into what I actually got. I hope you’re all as excited as I was.
First up is a full-size Star Wars Pop from Funko. The ones they sent out were Yoda, Stormtroopers, Princess Leia, C-3PO, and Rey. I must admit I’m not the biggest Star Wars fan, despite being totally into it as a kid, but I was still thrilled to receive one of these as I love Funkos and I want as many as possible as they’re lovely collectables and are super cute. The Funko I got in my box was Rey. I am yet still to watch The Force Awakens but I know that everyone loves Rey so I wasn’t disappointed in the slightest.

15750110_10210349705812248_1716602055_n

Next up is the Kryptonite Bath Powder (created exclusively for this box by Geeky Clean). This stuff is absolutely amazing. It says that it smells like cupcakes and it certainly isn’t lying, it smells incredible! I’ve actually already tried this out in my bath and it was lovely. It turned my water a vibrant green and transported me to a place of frosting and goodness. Despite not being the biggest of packets, I’ve currently had 2 baths worth of use and still have some left for more!

15781973_10210349706972277_933712058_n

For the first time ever, Fairyloot is featuring socks! I am personally a huge fan of a good pair of socks, so was extremely excited when I saw them in there. The galaxy print is perfect for the theme and I am in love with them as astronomy is another thing that I also love, so the two combined are a perfect match! It doesn’t specify who the socks were created by, just that they’re brought to us by Fairyloot and they’re exclusive! Oooo.

15782735_10210349706332261_316533638_n

Of course with a bookish box we were bound to receive a bookmark. The watercolour bookmark inside was designed by Lexy Olivia and features a quote from the Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman. It’s excellent quality and is a perfect contrast of light and dark and of course fits the theme perfectly!

15750334_10210349729212833_1896087697_n

Next up are the badges (buttons) and art print designed exclusively for this box by the extremely talented Taratjah. I’ve followed Tara on Twitter for some time now and all of her designs are stunning and she posts so many, I’d definitely check her out if I were you! The art print features all of the boys from The Lunar Chronicles series, which I was super excited about with it being one of my favourite series and the badges features Darrow and Sevro from The Red Rising trilogy – a series I haven’t actually read but is on my TBR.

In addition to all of this we also received a Way Down Dark sampler (which looks like a really good read so I may have to get my hands on this when it’s released), Red Rising art print and The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet art print – both which are beautiful and definitely going on my wall.

And now for the book – Flashfall by Jenny Moyer, first in a new series which is described as ‘a fantastic blend of sci-fi and rebellion’ and has ‘an amazing plot with strong characters, set in such a unique world’. With this was also a signed bookplate, letter and bookmark from the author. I’m really looking forward to reading this book with it being right up my street of books I love to read! I’ll be sure to do a review on it.

15782795_10210349703852199_1660301697_n

Summary
Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city.

But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it.

 

So there we have it, my first unboxing and my first Fairyloot box. I loved this box, so much so I’ve also bought the January box which I am super excited for with it containing all of my favourite things. If you are looking for a good monthly subscription box  I would 100% recommend this as it’s all things wonderful!

One thought on “Fairyloot Unboxing – December 2016

Leave a Reply

