January Book Haul

Hello and welcome to my January book haul! I am 100% aware that we are almost half way through February right now, but better late than never am I right?
I attempted to put myself on somewhat of a book ban in the beginning of this year as I was buying way too many books and reading none of them so my TBR (to be read) pile was increasing by the day and that’s not good considering I have too many on it, to begin with.

I didn’t buy that many books, and 2 of them are for university which I completely forgot to get at the beginning of the year, but I still bought books and I wasn’t supposed too. Naughty me. I am, however, doing considerably better this month and I think this ban will actually worthwhile!
Now, without further ado, here’s what books I bought in the month of January!

Books for University

  • Transmission by Hari Kunzru
    In Transmission, award-winning writer Hari Kunzru takes an ultra-contemporary turn with the story of an Indian computer programmer whose luxurious fantasies about life in America are shaken when he accepts a California job offer.Lonely and naïve, Arjun spends his days as a lowly assistant virus- tester, pining away for his free-spirited colleague Christine. Arjun gets laid off like so many of his Silicon Valley peers, and in an act of desperation to keep his job, he releases a mischievous but destructive virus around the globe that has major unintended consequences. As world order unravels, so does Arjun’s sanity, in a rollicking cataclysm that reaches Bollywood and, not so coincidentally, the glamorous star of Arjun’s favourite Indian movie.
    Considering this is a book I’ve got to read as part of my university studies, I am extremely looking forward to reading it as it’s something completely different to what I usually read, but definitely something that I would love.429653
  • Red Dust Road by Jackie Kay
    From the moment when, as a little girl, she realizes that her skin is a different colour from that of her beloved mum and dad, to the tracing and finding of her birth parents, her Highland mother and Nigerian father, the journey that Jackie Kay undertakes in Red Dust Road is full of unexpected twists, turns and deep emotions. In a book shining with warmth, humour and compassion, she discovers that inheritance is about much more than genes: that we are shaped by songs as much as by cells, and that our internal landscapes are as important as those through which we move. Taking the reader from Glasgow to Lagos and beyond, Red Dust Road is revelatory, redemptive and courageous, unique in its voice and universal in its reach. It is a heart-stopping story of parents and siblings, friends and strangers, belonging and beliefs, biology and destiny, and love.
    Again, not something that I would choose to read if given the choice as it isn’t that I would usually read, but I am looking forward to reading more diverse books about serious issues in the world that are happening all around us.
    Image result for red dust road jackie kay
    Books Because Why Not?
  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
    Somewhere within our crowded sky, a crew of wormhole builders hops from planet to planet, on their way to the job of a lifetime. To the galaxy at large, humanity is a minor species, and one patched-up construction vessel is a mere speck on the star chart. This is an everyday sort of ship, just trying to get from here to there.
    But all voyages leave their mark, and even the most ordinary of people have stories worth telling. A young Martian woman, hoping the vastness of space will put some distance between herself and the life she‘s left behind. An alien pilot, navigating life without her own kind. A pacifist captain, awaiting the return of a loved one at war.
    Set against a backdrop of curious cultures and distant worlds, this episodic tale weaves together the adventures of nine eclectic characters, each on a journey of their own.
    I must admit when I read the blurb to this book I got a little overexcited. I’m really liking science fiction books at the moment but haven’t really got any on my bookshelf so I was super happy when I discovered this. I’m so pumped to read it!
    Image result for the long way to a small angry planet
  • Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth
    In a galaxy powered by the current, everyone has a gift.
    Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.
    Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
    The Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?
    Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth’s stunning portrayal of the power of friendship — and love — in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.

    I’m pretty sure everyone knows about this somewhat recent book release, and despite hearing several negative comments about this book and it’s lack of diversity with its characters, I am still looking forward to reading it as I really enjoyed Veronica Roth’s other famous series Divergent so I assume it’s got some good qualities?
    30117284
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
    In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.
    Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.
    Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.
    In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

    I have nothing more to say about this book other than everyone else seems to love it and I can nearly understand why as it sounds amazing and 100% something that I most likely going to devour in one sitting. I’m so excited to start reading it as I can just imagine how much I am going to love it.
    21414439
  • Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
    This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.
    I read the first novel to this series (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children) early last year (I think) which I thoroughly enjoyed, but have only been motivated to continue reading the series after watching the movie several months back as I forgot how much I enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see what adventures the peculiar children go on further into the series.
    23164983
  • Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
    I have a curse
    I have a gift
    I am a monster
    I’m more than human
    My touch is lethal
    My touch is power
    I am their weapon
    I will fight back
    Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
    The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong colour.
    The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
    Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.
    Again, a book that I have so many good things about on bookstagram/booktube/twitter and have been meaning to read for some time now. Totally up my alley and will most likely not take me long to read at all as it seems to be full of adventure, conflict (emotional and physical) and like there will never be a dull moment.
    Image result for shatter me
  • Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan Doyle Adventures

    (I didn’t think this book needed the blurb as who doesn’t know who Sherlock Holmes is?) This book is basically all of the Sherlock Holmes stories by Arthur Conan Doyle that make an appearance in the BBC programme ‘Sherlock’. I already have every Sherlock Holmes story in a huge hardback, but I saw this I thought it would be easier for me to read in a small paperback AND I am a huge fan of the television series, so I thought, why not?
    25955314

    So there we have it! All of the books I bought in the month of January! Whilst writing out this post there were more books than I thought which were a little surprising as at the beginning I was so proud of how little I thought I had got this month.
    I am adamant to buy fewer books this month (February) but I’ll be sure to keep you updated on which one’s I couldn’t resist.

    Thank you and have a lovely day!
    Zoe.

Leave a Reply

