Fairyloot Unboxing – March 2017

Hello and welcome to my Fairyloot unboxing for the month of March! If you didn’t know, Fairyloot is a YA monthly book subscription box where once a month you receive a box full of bookish goodies and a newly released young adult book relating to the theme of the month.
The theme for the month of March was ‘Myths and Monsters’ and was also a special one year anniversary box and was said to be perfect for those who are fans of all things mythical creatures such as mermaids, dragons, Nephilim and all those wonderful things! I was super excited when this box was released with it being right up my alley as I love all things mythical, especially creatures, and the fact that it was the one year anniversary box I expected a lot from it. However, although the things we received in this box were great, they aren’t particularly things that I am interested in or will use so I was a tad let down if I’m honest, but maybe that’s just personal preference as everyone else seemed to absolutely adore it!

Now, let’s get on with the unboxing!

17819742_10211218394168806_790009006_o

As you can see, compared to other boxes there isn’t *that* much in there, but the stuff we did get were pretty big things, so I suppose that makes up for it. And if you haven’t noticed, unlike the other boxes, this box is purple in honour of their anniversary which I thought was a lovely touch. I do like purple.

17797476_10211218394808822_1358131280_o

Every month you get a card which always has such beautiful art work on retaining to the theme of the month and on the back tells you everything about what is inside the box and where it comes from. In addition to this there is also ‘Fairyscoop’ – a booklet telling you a little bit about the author which I particularly enjoy!

17522467_10211218394408812_417217797_o

The most standout item in the box is this exclusive ‘silver dragon scale scarf’ made of soft Balinese yarn, created exclusively for this box by’ Givart’. This is the first time ever they have included a scarf in the box and it is such a lovely one. I’m not a huge lover of scarves but this one is super soft and surprisingly very warm considering it isn’t the thickest of materials, perfect for nuzzling your neck into on those not-so-warm Spring days (it is also stated that no dragons were harmed in the making of this scarf – so that’s also a great feature!)

17797086_10211218396488864_1698112051_o

Another item they’ve never included before is fairy lights! These were created by ‘Mustard’ and have pink unicorns and white/translucent rainbows. They are very cute but not really my thing, I love fairy lights but I just have nowhere to put them, so although many people will/do love this item as it is totally unique (I love that fact about them) I just felt a bit ‘ehh’ when I opened them. Super cute though don’t get me wrong.

17797920_10211218396608867_1717189771_o

Now this is a whole other story. Never have I ever smelt a candle that smells as good as this one does. It takes candle sniffing to a whole other level, I could literally sit with the candle propped under my nose for hours and still not get tired of the smell it is delightful! It is an exclusive candle by ‘Geeky Clean’ and smells of black cherry and lime, the perfect combination of sweet and sour. Geeky Clean also provided cupcake frosting bath powder and that was to die for also, so if you’re all for fantastically smelling items, these are your guys!

17797540_10211218396288859_285662007_o

Next we have a mermaid pocket mirror exclusively designed by ‘Book Otter’ which is again, a super cute item but something I’m not really interested in as I don’t tend to use pocket mirrors, but I suppose it’s handy.

17761248_10211218396168856_1629967617_o

Now these are adorable! ‘Bonitismo designed these dragon and phoenix magnetic bookmarks exclusively for Fairyloot (yes another exclusive). I always see magnetic bookmarks on Instagram (abooktasia if you wanna give me a cheeky follow), and I’m so glad I have these two to begin my collection.

17797155_10211218395448838_145921795_o

The bonus items in this box were a ‘Fallen’ online chapter sampler (couldn’t get a picture my camera battery died) and this anniversary booklet telling you how Fairyloot started and about the owners. It was really interesting seeing how the company was started and learning about the people that bring us so much joy every month by providing us with these boxes.

17797879_10211218397528890_1562773929_o

Now what we’re all here for: the book, which is ‘Strange the Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor. I guessed that it was this book (as I can imagine many other people did) before we received the box and I thrilled when I opened it and saw that I was right! This is a highly anticipated read for many people and I really can’t wait to to dive into it. In addition to the book being absolutely beautiful, it also has blue stained edges and is signed! Yes signed! I suppose this book makes up for my lack of enthusiasm for the items in the box because it is a monster (see what I did there).
Also my Fairyloot reading buddy hashtag is #FairyLoot00167 if you’re out there buddy!

Strange the Dreamer Goodreads Summary

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.
What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?
The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?
In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.
Welcome to Weep.

This box wasn’t my favourite that I’ve received so far and I was slightly let down by it, but that is purely due to personal preference. The theme for April is ‘Dreams and Wishes’ and is said to be perfect for you if you are a fan of ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ and ‘The Bone Season’ and I am big fans of both of these series so I am expecting big things!

What we know so far:
– perfect for fans of ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ and ‘The Bone Season’,
– it will include six items – two of them based on the two fandoms mentioned and the remaining four will be based on all things dreams and wishes,
– a supplier is Risa Rodil and has designed an exclusive ceramic mug,
– the book being featured is an April release described as: ‘an exquisite new dark fantasy filled with politics, loyalty, love, sacrifice, magic and a terrifying sea’ and will include a signed book plate and many other goodies too.

I feel like this book is going to be right up my street, I mean to mug alone is going to be worth it all especially as I’ve seen Risa Rodil’s design and my goodness is she talented (check her out on Instagram @risarodil. I’m hoping for some Stardust related items in this box as I think it’s perfectly fitting but who knows?

Thank you again and I hope to see you soon,
Zoe!

2 thoughts on “Fairyloot Unboxing – March 2017

  1. I always look at fairy loot unboxings and think wow, that looks so good! But I never buy one… I think I have to get one at some point as their boxes look really good and unique.

    Like

Leave a Reply

