May Fairyloot Unboxing & 1 Year Anniversary

Hello and welcome back to yet another Fairyloot unboxing, and my one year anniversary yay! I legit didn’t even know until I logged in to write this post. Happy one year anniversary abooktasia! I would say that I’ve treated you well, but lets just admit I’m a terrible blogger (if I even am one) and my uploading is shocking! Let’s hope the next year is going to be tons better – it needs to be! As I wasn’t aware of this anniversary I don’t have anything planned – sorry – and I’m a little too poor to host any sort of giveaway for a while – sorry again – I do however have an extra copy of ACOWAR as I got too excited and bought too many, so I suppose I could do a giveaway for that?? Let me know. Also whilst we’re celebrating I reached 400 followers this week on Instagram, so well done Abooktasia once more. Absolutely winning at this week so far! (Not really my life is a mess but lets not talk about that! I would like to say thank you though if you stuck around all this time it is much appreciated! I will try and be better I pinky swear.

However, less of that and lets get into the important stuff and what everyone is here for – the May Fairyloot unboxing! The theme for this month was ‘Warriors and Legends’ and was said to be perfect for those who were fans of ‘The Lord of the Rings’, which of course I am because who is not it is fantastic! I liked all the items in the box this month, however my only qualm is is that I personally don’t think some of the items pertaned to the theme, but maybe that is just me cause I’m picky as anything. Sorry.
Now, I’m going to stop rambling (again) and get on with the unboxing!!

IMG_1264.JPG

Not as much as long month, but that was an extremely difficult box to beat. However, still lots of fun and exciting stuff and things.

IMG_1236

Of course the spoiler card and bookmark are in there with the picture for this month’s theme and also a chapter sampler for ‘Naondel’ by Maria Turtschaninott which I’m definitely going to read as it sounds super interesting!

IMG_1231

Okay, the first thing I saw was this beautiful Warriors and Legends jasmine and lychee green tea by ‘The Tea Leaf Co. I’m not a fan of tea so I gave this to my dad and he has already devoured over half of the tin. He said it’s really refreshing and light and is perfect early in the morning to start off your day. If you’re not into tea like me, you could always just smell it like I do, as it smells incredible!

IMG_1232

Next we have this lovely little candle from ‘In the Wick of Time’. The candle is called Flame with the scent of orange blossom and mint – let me tell you know it is one of the loveliest candles I have ever smelt. They sent out two different candles, this one and another called Mist – I bet you can guess what the book is!

IMG_1238

Of course every warrior needs a feather pen?? I wasn’t overly too keen on this item – don’t get me wrong its a lovely pen and I am going to use it, but to me it feels a little cheap and I don’t really think it’s very Warrior or Legend? I don’t know, maybe it is just me and I was expecting something a bit more badass. It was created by Flora’s Wonder Emporium and I’m pretty certain there were several other colours also.

IMG_1233

Now, this item got me very, very excited! It’s a ‘Lord of the Rings’ inspired bookmark by Ink and Wonder and my goodness is it beautiful! If you didn’t know, Ink and Wonder make the most visually pleasing wooden bookmarks for any of your favourite book series; and because they are wooden don’t have to worry about ruining it or the dreaded curled corners!

IMG_1230

Yes you are seeing correctly – this is a second book! This is ‘World Mythology in Bite-Sized Chunks’ by Mark Daniels and it tells you little bits of information about mythology of different countries ranging from Australia to China! Again, I personally don’t know whether it fits perfectly with the theme, I think it’s more suited to the previous Myths and Monsters box, but either way I totally love it and can’t wait to give it a read!

IMG_1234

Another one of my most beloved things – socks! These are Celtic socks brought to us exclusively by Fairyloot and has the design of the Celtic knot pattern – a form of decorative Celtic art. I’ve already worn these which is why they look a little disheveled in the picture and my goodness are they comfy! They’re lovely and thick and feet very nicely on my feet – perfect for bed time or winter nights.

IMG_1237

That’s right you’ve probably guessed it already, but the book for this month is ‘Flame in the Mist’ by Renée Ahdieh. This has got to be one of my most anticipated reads for this year as it’s all I’ve been hearing about for the past several months so I am thrilled that we got it in the box. It is a retelling of Mulan in feudal Japan, and basically everything you could ever want in a book. It came with a letter from the author that doubles up as a lovely poster for your wall, a signed bookplate and a bookmark.

‘Flame in the Mist’ Goodreads Summary

The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and one purpose only: to marry. Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist. Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fate was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.

So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time. But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group of bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.

The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge. Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

Like I said a very exciting sounding book! I’ll most likely be doing a book review for this book when I finally get around to reading it, so keep your eyes peeled for that!
But, there we have it, the May Fairyloot unboxing! I liked everything we got in this book and it surely didn’t let me down – Fairyloot never seem too they’re just too good! – and am super excited about June’s box which is ‘Elementalists’ and is said to be perfect for fans of ‘The Last Airbender’ which I am not but doesn’t get rid of an ounce of excitement!!

What we know so far:

  • perfect for people that love magic, elements and Avatar: The Last Airbender,
  • every item in the box is exclusive and there is a total of 6 items – only one of them being based on a fandom (Avatar),
  • the book featured is a highly anticipated novel that contains unique elemental magic and a story that is said to make your heart racing,
  • one supplier is Miss Phi who has created an exclusive throw pillow design and is perfect for any bookworm,
  • another supplier is Geeky Clean (my all time favourite) who will be creating something exclusive for this box which isn’t a bath item or a candle, with four variations being sent out,
  • another supplier is Witch Wood Rememdies who create the most beautiful candles with crystals and toppings. There will be a total of five different candles sent out and each one will hold a special meaning that will only be revealed once you’ve read the book.

This is all the information Fairyloot has given us regarding the June box and my goodness does it sound exciting! I am a fan of each one of these suppliers so I can not wait to see what they have created for us – no doubt going to be spectacular!

I hope you enjoyed this unboxing as much as I did and keep your eye out for my very first Illumicrate unboxing within the next week! Thank you once again and I hope you’re all having a wonderful day!!

Zoe

Leave a Reply

