Fairyloot giveaway prize & June Unboxing!

Hello and welcome to another Fairyloot unboxing – the only thing that is frequent and guaranteed on this blog! Earlier this week I received my June ‘Elementalists’ box and my prize for the 50k giveaway I won. It was like waking up on Christmas morning!  If you didn’t know, Fairyloot is a YA monthly book subscription box where once a month you receive a box full of bookish goodies and a newly released young adult book relating to the theme of the month.
As stated previously, the theme for this month was ‘Elementalists’ and was said to be perfect for fans of ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’ and basically anything to do with elements, which is me. If I’m going to be honest I wasn’t a huge fan of the theme as I’ve never watched ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’ but I know that Fairyloot have never let me down before so couldn’t bring myself to miss this box. I am so glad I didn’t.

Here is why:

Look at how exciting and versatile all that stuff is, and not one thing is ugly or useless or something I won’t use, it is complete perfection! Well done once again Fairyloot!

Of course as always we have the beautiful card with art work matching the theme of the month and details of everything that is inside. In addition to ‘Fairyscoop’ which has an interview with the author inside, a bookmark and buddy reading code. Mine is: #fairyloot07080 so if you’re my buddy, hello let’s chat!

One of the items we knew we were getting was a candle from ‘Witchwood Remedies’ and let me tell you, every single candle is absolutely stunning! They sent out five different ‘Stormheart’ candles, with each one being based on storms in the book of the month, containing crystals that match those stormhearts. They are handmade, vegan and feature botanical toppings. The candle I received was called ‘Twister’ – honestly would have been happy with any as every storm is my favourite storm – and has a very strong smell of spices and black pepper? I’m terrible at scents, but either way of stunning candle.

IMG_1328

Next we have a Hamsa hand bracelet created by ‘In The Moment’. It is said that the hand is a protective symbol and brings the owner luck, health, happiness and good fortune. I love dainty little pieces of jewelry like this and is the perfect addition to any outfit!

IMG_1324

If there is one thing I love besides books, my dog and Harry Potter, it has got to be stationary! These adorable little post it notes are brought to us exclusively by Fairyloot – purple is for health; blue is for magic power; yellow is for stamina. I adore them and are the perfect addition for my desk, and who can have too many post-it notes? Certainly not me.

IMG_1327

Again, another beautifully smelling item and something that I will definitely be using! This soap is made exclusively for us by ‘Ascent Bath and Body’ and is white fig and pomegranate glycerin with added shea butter and activated charcoal. I can imagine it is going to smell even more incredible when used and make your skin feel silky soft! Very excited to use it,, but also don’t want to ruin its perfection.

IMG_1330

Now this I was very excited for! If you didn’t know Geeky Clean are one of my all-time favourite companies as their products are such great quality and they have the most amazing scented item! They provided us this month, with ‘Bending Lipbalms’, each box containing a different element – earth, air, fire, water -and even though earth is my number 1 element, this ‘air bender’ vanilla lip balm is still wonderful and makes my lips feel silky smooth. They are also vegan which is fantastic!!

IMG_1331

Now isn’t this just the most beautiful pillow case you ever did see? It was created by Miss Phi (who also created the ‘Mime Order’ tote bag featured in the April ‘Dreams and Wishes’ box) and my goodness is she talented. Her items are of such great quality and the designs are too die for. Perfect addition to my bed!

 

The bonus promotional items included in this months box include ‘The Waking Land’ sampler (I have 2 arcs of this book and it looks amazing, so excited to start reading!) and a ‘Frostblood’ postcard. I do love me some swag.

IMG_1332

Now finally, THE BOOK, and it is ‘Roar’ by Cora Carmack. I was so excited when I pulled the book from the bag and it was this one as I’ve seen it around bookstagram and Twitter recently and it looks like such a good book! I was about to buy this book for £16 the night before but decided against it last minute, which is extremely lucky as I can buy another book instead now! Yay books. Of course, as always you also receive a signed book plate and a letter from the author about the book, which is always lovely. I’m so excited to read this book and it seems like something I would really enjoy and get stuck into quite quickly!

Goodreads Summary

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

So there we have it! As always a wonderfully curated box by Fairyloot. I honestly don’t know how they manage to excel every month and out-do themselves, I’m pretty sure they really are fairies! The theme for July is ‘Tricksters’ and it looks like it is also going to be as fantastic as this one!

What we know so far:

  • perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Harley Quinn, Loki, Harry Potter and Sherlock,
  • it will feature six items, four of which have never been featured before in a Fairyloot box,
  • a supplier is Lexy Olivia who creates the most beautiful book marks,
  • the book featured is a dark fantasy that is a blend of magic, murder and mayhem. It is set in a travelling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest dreams and desires. It will come with a signed bookplate and more.

It features more or less anything that I love in life, meaning the wait for this month is going to be excruciatingly long – I honestly don’t know how I am going to last.

 

50K Fairyloot Giveaway Prize

Some time last month, Fairyloot hosted a giveaway in order to celebrate them reaching 50k followers on Instagram. 1st place would win a free 3 month subscription and 2nd, 3rd and 4th would win a specially curated box by Anissa – the creator of Fairyloot. I luckily (I don’t know how because I never win anything!) won the 2nd prize, so I thought I would share with you what I got in my special box!

IMG_1338

I recieved these 3 arcs in the box which I was super excited about because who doesn’t love advanced readers copies? I know I sure do. They include: ‘The Waking Lands’ by Callie Bates (I already own a copy of this book, so I gave it to my mum. She was thrilled); Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser – I’m so glad I got this one as I’ve seen it a lot recently and am super eager to start reading it; and finally ‘Black Wing’ by Ed McDonald which I don’t really know much about. but still looks extremely interesting. It also has black sprayed edges and for an arc that is pretty damn cool!

There was also a chapter sampler of ‘Because You Love to Hate Me’, which is a collection of story stories by 13 amazing authors and 13 amazing booktubers. And to make it even more amazing, it is signed by Ameriie – by whom it is edited by – which was a complete surprise and a lovely extra touch! Also very excited to read this book, I love the concept and the ideas surrounding it, AND it includes some of my favourite authors such as Victoria Schwab, Marissa Meyer, Samantha Shannon etc.

IMG_1342

Anissa also included these very cool nail coverings. I’ve never actually tried these things out before but am very much looking forward to doing so, as my nails are always plain and boring, so these would make me so much more fancier! Also, I don’t know if she knew (probably not) but I am a huge science and space fan, so these are absolutely perfect for me!!

Both of these items are past things that have been in Fairyloot boxes (which I have), but still very much enjoy. There is a mermaid mirror which is perfect for shoving in your handbag with it being perfect travelling size, as well as having a beautiful design and a tin of the ‘Warriors and Legends’ tea. I am not a fan of tea, but my dad loved this when I gave it to him last month, so he was very happy when I told him I had another tin for him to demolish!

IMG_1347

Finally we have the most amazing bookmarks ever! I’ve been eyeing these bookmarks for so long but I’m always really stingy when it comes to shipping prices as they are from Read and Wonder, who are based in Australia. These are the ACOMAF court bookmarks, including Dawn, Summer, Night and Autumn – aka some of my favourites, especially the Summer Court – Tarquin is my number 1. So thank you very much, you’ve made me very happy!

Finally we have come to the end of what has got to be the most longest and exciting post so far. I haven’t really been feeling too well, both mentally and physically, this month so when these 2 boxes arrived (on the same day might I add) it really lifted my spirits for a while. If you haven’t already, I would highly recommend you check out Fairyloot as they are such a lovely company and as you can see do *the* best boxes!

Thank you for staying until the end and I hope you enjoyed it!

Zoe

Leave a Reply

