October Fairyloot Unboxing

Hello and welcome back to another Fairyloot unboxing. This month we’re unboxing the October ‘Villainous’ box, which as always, I was very excited about – especially considering the fact it fits in perfectly with the time of the year, Halloween; it was also a gift off my dad for my birthday last month, which is funny as it arrived on his birthday!It was described as being perfect for fans of The Young Elites, Harry Potter, Sherlock and many more. If you didn’t know, Fairyloot is a YA monthly book subscription box where once a month you receive a box full of bookish goodies and a newly released young adult book relating to the theme of the month.
Now, lets get onto the unboxing!

IMG_1976

I personally, think it’s villainous how much good stuff there was in this book if i’m being perfectly honest!

IMG_1972

Of course we have the wonderful spoiler card and bookmark desgined by Taratjah – one of my favourite artists – in addition to ‘Fairyscoop’ which has an interview with the author and your reading buddy card – my reading buddy number is: #Fairyloot126117, so if you have this number, well, hello there reading buddy!

IMG_1974

The first item is this adorable little ‘Hidden Darkness’ pocket mirror designed by Little Inkling Designs, featuring a quote from The Young Elites by Marie Lu. I haven’t actually read this series (my mum has), despite having the books on my shelf for so long. Soon I will take the plunge, soon.

IMG_1970

Here we have a stunning art print from Evie Seo, which features a quote from The Aeneid by Virgil, a Roman poet. However, you may find this quote familiar because of Sebastian Morgenstern from The Mortal Instruments.

IMG_1964

You know I love my enamel pins, so I was thrilled when I spotted this in the box. It is an exclusive Death Eater pin made by House of Wonderland and I absolutely adore it! I’m going to try and wear it everywhere I can, because why the hell not!

IMG_1963

This wonderful coaster was also brought to us by Evie Seo and was inspired by Moriarty – one of my most loved villains of all time! I adore the designs and it makes my desk look 100% times better!

IMG_1962

Another one of my loves – Meraki Candles. They’ve brought us an exclusive Maleficent candle which is scented jade orchid and lotus blossom and my goodness does it smell amazing! It is very sweet, which I wouldn’t imagine Maleficent as but either way I love the scent and can’t stop smelling it!

IMG_1971

Oh, what is this? A book? Not the book of the month might I add. Yes, this month we received two books – one of them being this exclusive edition of A Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo. I was super pumped when they announced they was including this second  book in the box, I just had to buy it! AND you can not get this edition (with the red foiling) anywhere else, how exciting is that!? Once I finish my current read, I’m getting straight onto this as it is beautiful!

 

One of the bonus items were these Language of Thorns postcards, featuring an imagine from each of the short stories in the book. They are all beautiful and I can not wait to hang them up on my walls and admire them for as long as I can.

IMG_1969

Another bonus item was this Night of Cake and Puppets by Laini Taylor art print. I’m yet to acquire this book, but I’m very much excited to do so as it looks fantastic and Laini Taylor is a tremendous writer.

IMG_1973

The official book of the month is Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao. I’ve seen this book floating around Twitter and Instagram and am very excited to read it is as it sounds right up my alley. It’s an Evil Queen (from Snow White) retelling set in Eastern Asia, so I can only begin to imagine how great it is going to be! It also of course comes with a letter from the author and a signed bookplate.

Goodreads Summary 

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high?

Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins–sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. 

Told you it sounded great didn’t I! Well, that’s it for another month of Fairyloot goodness, as usual I loved the box and everything inside of it – I’m starting to actually believe that Fairyloot have some fairies working for them their boxes are that good.
The theme for November is ‘Ladies That Slay’ – so this is one for all you ladies out there that like to feel empowered by strong females!

What we know so far:

  • celebrate favourite leading ladies in YA;
  • find items themed around: Hermione Granger, Katniess Everdeen, Blue Sargent and more;
  • the book is an October release that ‘features dragons and the story follows a girl that must hunt dragons and learn the power of old stories’;
  • the book will have an exclusive cover for Fairyloot only, so you won’t be able to buy it anywhere else – it will also come with a signed bookplate, letter from the author and more;
  • the November box will also have a second book – an advanced reading copy of a high fantasy that won’t be published until May 2018;
  • one of the items revealed is a book sleeve. The design is exclusive so you won’t be able to get it anywhere else;

This to me sounds like it’s going to be as wonderful as all of it’s predecessors. I was not going to buy the November box for financial reasons but omg could I miss up on this box? No I could not, for it is amazing!

I hope you enjoyed the unboxing as much as I did, and I’ll see you all soon!

Zoe

2 thoughts on “October Fairyloot Unboxing

  1. Loooved this box!
    Although I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with those postcards.. Like, why are they printed on both sides? Now you have to seriously PICK which ones you want to see..

    Can’t wait for November’s box! My first ever book sleeeeeve!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: