November Fairyloot Unboxing

Hello!

It’s that time of the month again where I gust over how amazing my recent Fairyloot box was. The box for November was themed ‘Ladies That Slay’, which, being a feminist, I am all for those kick-ass female characters that currently dominate our young adult literary world. It was described as being perfect for fans of Hermione Granger, Katniss Everdeen, Blue Sargent and more. If you didn’t know, Fairyloot is a YA monthly book subscription box where once a month you receive a box full of bookish goodies and a newly released young adult book relating to the theme of the month.

Now, lets get onto the unboxing!

IMG_2069

This is the part of the unboxing where I inevitably gush over the beautiful-as-always spoiler card and bookmark designed by the wonderfully talented – Taratjah.

IMG_2065

The first item is this marvelous ‘Blue’s Brew’ tin of tea by Bookish Teas inspired by Blue Sargent from The Raven Boys. As you know I’m not a lover of tea (despite being English – I know, criminal isn’t it?), but let me tell you now, I am a huge lover of the scent of this tea! Never have I ever smelt a tea that is as delicious as this one – I may actually have to give it a go. (and it has edible glitter!)

IMG_2063

This is my first candle from Flick the Wick and I adore it! It is a Hermione candle (one of my all-time favourite characters) and is in the scent of vanilla, lily, musk, raspberry and citrus – aka an extremely sweet and musky smelling candle.

IMG_2064

Here we have a lovely little sticker by Reverie & Ink, that has a quote from An Ember in Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I am still yet to read this series, but I really love this quote and it kind of makes me want to read it more now.
I am a big fan of the colours on this sticker – I just wish I had somewhere to put it so I can admire it for all of eternity!

IMG_2067

Now for arguably the best item in this box – A BOOK SLEEVE. We was told that we was going to be getting a book sleeve in this box, but never did I think it would be as lovely and high quality as this one. It is designed by Aunjuli Art and fits perfectly with the theme, making any book inside feel as bad ass as its sleeve. In addition to having an amazing design, it is also made very well with it being waterproof and being big enough to fit literally (maybe not) any book.

IMG_2068

Despite all the other previous amazing things in this box, this has probably got to be my favourite item inside of it. It is a Mockingjay quoted patch/badge made by the Literary Emporium and is honestly my most beloved item I have received in a Fairyloot box yet. I’m a huge fan of The Hunger Games, and seeing as though it’s kind of oldish now, I tend to get very excited when book boxes include item around this series, because it is amazing and I love it with the a big portion of my heart. (Also wish I had somewhere to put this so I can look at it for the whole of eternity.)

IMG_2062

What is this I hear you asking! Why, it’s only an advanced readers copy of Furyborn by Claire Legrand. Yes, Fairyloot have excelled once more and included two books in a box again – and this is a monster of a book let me tell you now, it is huge!
It isn’t on sale until May 2018, so this is a very advanced readers copy. I don’t really know much about it, but from what I have read/seen it sounds like it is going to be a really interesting and exciting read, I am very excited! Here is the Goodreads link if you want to know more about it: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34323570-furyborn?ac=1&from_search=true

As always there is some bonus items in the box, and you know I love me some literary swag. We received a Mortal Coil enamel pin (I was very excited about this, as I am a huge fan of enamel pins) and The Last Namsara postcard and pin.

IMG_2070

Maybe the previous items gave it away but this months book is The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli. I’ve heard very mixed opinions about this book so I don’t know whether or not I am truly excited about reading it yet, but what I do know is that it is about dragons and I don’t half love myself some dragons. Another exciting this about this book is that it has an exclusive cover!!!!! The original has gold foiling, whereas this one has silver, so that in itself is something to get excited about if you ask me. Additionally, as always it comes with a signed bookplate (mine unfortunately has a crease right through the middle of it) and a letter from the author.

Goodreads Summary 

In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be darkness—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death-bringer.

These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up learning in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.

Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm. When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

And there we have it! As always a fantastic box from Fairyloot, filled with so many wonderful and exciting items!
The theme for December is ‘Oh So Regal’ and believe me when I say, I am oh so excited for this box!

Here is what we know so far: 

  • features items around our favourite royals;
  • the items will be themed on Disney, Shakespeare, Red Queen and more;
  • the book featured won’t be out until early January, meaning we will be getting it ahead of publication. It has “magic, royals, mythology and is set in a world where time is used as currency”;
  • the box will contain A FULL SIZED DISNEY FUNKO POP (you know how I feel about funko pops, they are my favourite things ever) – I hope to god I do not get Cinderella, Snow White or Sleeping Beauty, they are my least favourite princesses;
  • will also feature many more exciting thing.

That is all we know so far, but I am probably the most excited for this box (it’s probably the prospect of a funko pop, not going to lie). I believe I already have an advanced readers copy of this book, but it will be nice to have a completed/finished hardback edition of it also.
That is all I have to say about that for now, so I hope you enjoyed another one of my gushing unboxings, and the December month treats you well.

All the best,
Zoe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: