‘The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue’ by V.E Schwab, a small review

I was originally going to do a full review of this book as I am a huge fan of all and anything that V.E Schwab produces, but for fear that I wouldn’t be able to stop, I decided it best to keep it short and sweet. Just know, that V.E Schwab has done it again, she has stolen my heart and hurt me where it is most delicate.

Synopsis

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

Book Information
Author: V.E Schwab
Publication Date: October 6th 2020
Page Count: 442
Review: All of the stars.

Review

As you know, I am a sucker for any and all things V.E Schwab and this book only reinforced that. This book follows a girl who made a deal with the devil, but with any sort of devil or demon things aren’t going to be as straight forward as they seem. Addie made a deal to live forever, but what she didn’t know was that a part of this deal was that no one would ever remember her. She survives of course, but she can never own a home, have any possessions and lives a very secluded life. That is until she meets Henry, the most charming book shop worker who is the first person since 1714 to remember her.

This book is utterly heart-breaking but in the most loveliest way. V.E Schwab is the only person who could me right down to my core, and I would thank her for it. You can fall in love so easily with every aspect of this story. In the end, although you don’t feel fulfilled, you do feel content. The story is true and raw and unlike anything I’ve read before, there is no happy ending, not really, but that only highlights what life is really like – you can only deal with the cards life has given you, or in Addie’s case, the cards that the devil has given you.

Also, an exciting update: this book is being turned into a movie and already has a very exciting director assigned to it. I am ready for this story to break me into a thousand little pieces once more.

Leave a comment