Game of Thrones Season 6 Finale Review/Discussion

I’m sure everybody and their auntie must have watched the season 6 finale of Game of Thrones on Sunday/Monday. I am also sure that everybody who watched it was on the edge of their seat and screaming at the tv. Or maybe that was just me.
The build up to the finale added to the impact of the episode, making it a blooming great piece of entertainment. ‘The Battle of the Bastards’ is by far one of the greatest episodes to date for me, with all the blood, revenge and fulfillment building up and up, until every gets justice and Ramsay Bolton is gone. Throughout that episode I was literally sweating from being *that* nervous about who was going to die, as we all know George R. Martin can be very cruel when it comes to killing people off.
From the very beginning, Game of Thrones hasn’t let its wide audience down, even when killing off some beloved characters such as Robb Stark and the many direwolves, and has always kept up yearning for more through the long months without it. So I’ve narrowed it down to a certain few moments within the episode that really got me jiggling about on my seat.

The death of Maester Pycelle
If i’m being honest, I never liked Pycelle, he always seemed to creep me out a little bit with his dodgy dealings and servitude to Cersei, so this moment was a very good one to see, despite all those innocent children becoming murderers, but at least it was all for a good cause. In addition to this, the way his death came about was very inventive also as we hadn’t seen out the child spies for a couple of episodes, so when they are introduced it created a mixture of shock and understanding of their role within Cersei’s plan. 
Game of Thrones

The Death of Margaery and Loras
I was completely shocked at this outcome. Before the explosion I was jumping about on my couch, praying to the Lord of Light that they would get out alive. Their deaths, especially that of Margaery are one’s that I least expected. Even know, I don’t think I’ve fully accepted it, they were just lovely people. However, I am very looking forward to the Tyrell’s revenge and their new alliance with the remains of house Martell/Dorne. That shit is going to blow up and I can not wait for it.

Game of Thrones

Tommen’s Suicide
Now this was highly unexpected also. It’s understandable why he threw himself from the castle window, with his wife whom he loved dearly being blown to smitherins by his controlling and murderous mother, but it is still equally sad. Tommen was my favourite of the Lannister children with him being the least corrupt and seemingly kind-hearted shown through his devotion to his wife and queen, so it is sad that his death ended so abruptly, but as far as deaths go in this series, it’s probably the most peaceful we have seen.

Game of Thrones

Sam Discovering the Library
This moment was just adorable and every book-lovers dream. That was one beast of a library that was and I could’ve lost myself in their for weeks. Sam’s face when discovering it was also so satisfying.  The amazement and contentment on his face filled my heart with warmth and happiness for him. He really is a gem that shines in the middle of rotten coppers.

Game of Thrones

Davos confronting Melisandre
The loss of Princess Shireen in the previous season was hard for anyone watching I can presume. The fact that she was the most innocent character, who committed no harm and taught Davos to read, made her death more traumatizing. We all knew that her and Davos had a close relationship,with him treating and loving her as his own daughter and when he discovered the wooden deer it almost broke my heart. However, we did get to see another side of Davos,  where he stands up for himself and basically grows a pair of balls. I hope we see more of him in this form. Don’t get me wrong, I do like Melisandra, come on she brought back Jon Snow but she does have bad intentions and she killed Renly. Bitch.

Game of Thrones

Lyanna Mormont Defending Jon Snow
I think at this moment, everyone fell in love with the character of Lyanna Mormont. She may not be big or have a lot to offer but my gosh she is so strong-willed and sassy. During her speech to rile up the men, every inch of my body was covered in goose-bumps as a wide smile crept upon my face from the appreciation I felt for her. She owes nothing to a bastard, but yet she still stands up for him and his fight to get revenge and safety for his family and its just so lovely.

Game of Thrones

Revealing of Jon Snow’s Parents.
There has been much speculation of who Jon Snow’s mother is and now it has been confirmed. I was kind of shocked at the reveal of his mother being Lyanna  Stark and his father (although not 100% confirmed) being Rhaegar Targaryen, but I think it’s safe to say after all the fan theories we all kind of guessed it. Didn’t stop it being any less brilliant though. The reveal of his heritage, I thought was exciting.The close up view and the rising in suspense, made for the perfect climatic ending. Very well done. I applaud you.
I’m really looking forward to seeing how they expand on this storyline and whether Jon actually finds out and if he does, what will this mean for Daenerys. Will they join forces? Let’s hope so, because that would be brilliant.

Game of Thrones

Arya Stark
Despite all of the previous moments being bloody brilliant, especially Jon Snow, the part of the finale that got me the most riled up was where we saw Arya feed Walder Frey his sons in a pie and then slit his throat. I’ve always been a fan of Arya, but this season I’ve just loved her more and more. She’s shown herself to be an incredibly strong character who can stand up for herself and won’t stop fighting for what she believes in, and to avenge her family. I honestly did not expect the girl who brought the pie to be Arya and when she ripped off her face I was like ‘OMG OMG’ it was the most bad-ass thing I had ever seen, ever. I truly hope she gets reunited with Sansa and Jon because that reunion will be something to cry and get goose-bumps about.

Game of Thrones

 

By golly gosh, there are so many more moments I could have discussed in this post, such as Cersei being crowned Queen (that’s not going to end well), Jamie’s face whilst watching this, suggesting that his loyalty for his beloved sister is wavering slightly (desperately hoping he teams up with Brienne, the ultimate dream team). In addition to the final shot of Daenerys with her many ships and wonderful dragons making their way to King’s Landing to whip the Lannister’s off the throne and say bye-bye to them. Everything was so expertly done and done to complete perfection. I don’t think it could have gone any better.
The only problem now is the fact that we have to wait until next year for the next season. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to make it, but I’ll try.

What were thoughts and favourite moments of this episode? Please let me know, I’d love to hear and discuss them.  You can never get enough of Game of Thrones can you.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Season 6 Finale Review/Discussion

Leave a Reply

