Fairyloot Unboxing – January 2017

Hello and welcome to my first Fairyloot unboxing of 2017!
If you’re reading this and thinking to yourself “what the hell is a Fairyloot?” then let me explain to you what it is, Fairyloot is a monthly young adult book subscription box where once a month you receive a newly released YA book and several bookish items relating to the theme of the month. The theme this month was ‘Mystery and Mischief and my goodness was this an exciting box! This is my second box from Fairyloot (you can find my December unboxing here) and I must say I love this one just as much as I loved the previous one.
So, without further ado, lets get into the unboxing.

16521536_10210684069211016_531200536_n

As you can see there was a lot of really exciting stuff in this box, with everything being brilliant quality and exactly what you would imagine would come with the theme of ‘Mystery and Mischief’.

16521884_10210684070411046_696231336_n

The first thing we see when we open the box is the ‘spoiler card’, aka the card which tells you what is in the box and where it’s from. Each month the image on the front is as beautiful as always and also matches the theme of the box.

16507627_10210684070011036_119482761_n

The most eye-catching thing (maybe because of its size, maybe because its beautiful) is this exclusive pillow case designed by Risa Rodil which has a quote from ‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern. Pillows, especially those with bookish cases are essential for reading in my opinion as we all know comfort is a key factor to a good reading experience. I haven’t actually read ‘The Night Circus’ fully as of yet (I started a while ago but haven’t got around to finishing it yet), but I still love this pillow case just as much as it is stunning. The case itself is very heavy-duty and is incredibly good quality, just making this box even more amazing!

16558649_10210684073891133_61527888_n

Next we have a ‘Funko Mystery Mini’. They sent out both Game of Thrones and Harry Potter versions of these and as you can see from the picture, mine was Game of Thrones. Luckily for me I am obsessed with both Harry Potter and GoT so either of them would be perfect for me. However, the person I got was Bran and he is probably my least favourite character from the series, BUT, nonetheless it is still really cute and I’m glad I have him. I’ll just have to get another one now and see if I can find him a friend.

16507663_10210684072651102_551542160_n

Is that a candle? Why yes it is, and a very lovely was as that. This is an exclusive ‘Come Back Yesterday’ candle by Meraki Candles themed after the book in this book, which the author (Stephanie Garber) named just for us. What a gem. The candle itself is  a soy candle with the scents of cocoa, berries and musk and by jingo is it a lovely smelling candle. For me it’s the perfect balance of sweet and fresh and is a pretty decent size also so I can keep burning and burning until I can’t burn no more!

16507319_10210684072971110_24457245_n

This box is that amazing that not only does it have one fantastic book. no IT HAS TWO! It is ‘How to Think Like Sherlock’ by Daniel Smith. When I saw this I was super excited, like super duper. Sherlock for me is life, I love the books, TV programme, film and absolutely anything else to do with it, so when I saw this in the box I’m pretty sure my heart beat a little faster.
It isn’t a novel, but more of like an ‘activity’ book kind of thing with things to fill out and work out inside to build your level of deduction, observation and memory – all kinds of fun.

This is an exclusive Alice in Wonderland bookmark designed by Read at Midnight, double printed with triple layers! The quotes read ‘we’re all mad here’ and ‘imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality’. It’s such a beautiful bookmark and with it having triple layers, super sturdy and hard-wearing so you don’t have to worry about bending any of the corners, which is a complete nightmare.

16506891_10210684070931059_531621812_n

Oh Panda Eyes designed and hand-made this beautiful exclusive rose necklace which we are told will understand the significance of after we have read the book. Very intriguing.  Personally I am not a huge jewellery wearer but I do appreciate a good necklace to spice up a somewhat boring outfit from time to time and I believe this will do just the thing.
The clasp is also a heart-shaped padlock as well which makes it even more adorable, I just hope I can find something just as nice to wear with it.
This was the last item (kind of) included in this box and as you can see everything was as lovely as anticipated.

16118678_10210684073851132_1757818369_n

In each box you also receive a couple of bonus/promotional items and these included an ‘Alchemists of Loom’ bookmark, Passenger/Wayfarer notebook and a free chapter download of Jackaby. All very lovely things considering they’re bonus items.

16522814_10210684074811156_384682244_n

And of course the thing we’ve all been waiting for: the book! It was fairly obvious what the book was going to be for this month and that is Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I’ve been hearing so many amazing things about this book around Twitter and Instagram so was thrilled when it turned out to be this book. I’m also going to a book signing at the end of this month for this book so that just makes me even more excited! As a surprise also, there were 4 covers you could get for this book (all completely random) and the one I got was the dress. I’ve seen the other covers and I much prefer them but the dress it still beautiful and I’m extremely happy with it.
In addition to the book there was also a bookmark, postcard, signed book pate and a letter from the author (which had a map drew on the back).

Caraval Goodreads Summary
Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

So there we have it, the Fairyloot January unboxing as brilliant as always.
The theme for the February theme is Emperor’s and Fugitives and is said to perfect for those who are fans of Throne of Glass, Rebel of the Sands, Guardians of the Galaxy and Illuminae – basically everything I love in life! So excited for this box and honestly can’t wait for it to get here!

Thank you and I’ll see you next time,
Zoe!

2 thoughts on “Fairyloot Unboxing – January 2017

Leave a Reply

