May Illumicrate Unboxing

Hello and welcome to yet another unboxing! This month I received my first ever Illumicrate subscription box – I saw the announcement and I just couldn’t say no. If you don’t know, Illumicrate is a quarterly bookish subscription box where every 3 months you receive a box full of exciting bookish items and a book. I’ve been eyeing this box for a while and I just decided to get it instead of facing the disappointment of missing out on another of their fantastic boxes. Now, without further ado lets get on with the unboxing!

IMG_1263

As always you get an Illumicrate card which tells you everything that is in the box and where it has come from. It goes perfectly with my bedding!

IMG_1239

The first thing I saw when I opened the box was this beautiful Feyre mug by Merwild. It is an exclusive design and came at just the right moment as I finished Acowar last week. I honestly did not expect to receive a cup and was thrilled when I opened the box to find it there. It’s to perfect to use for actually drinking so I’m most like going to use it as a decoration or bookmark holder so it can stay looking pretty on my shelves for years to come!

IMG_1253

Next we have this lovely little Harry Potter keychain by Nutmeg and Arlo and is the perfect addition to my ever-growing keyring collection. I think it’s adorable and its not too heavy or big so it fits perfectly on my keys.

IMG_1259

Beauty and the Beast – aka one of my all time favourite Disney movies. This is a print by TJ Lubrano and has got to be the cutest print I have ever seen. The quote says ‘Home is where the books are’ and never have I ever seen a quote that is so true. It’s good quality cardboard and again I just love the print.

IMG_1258

Another item from the same artist is this door hanger. Again, such a lovely print and look how cute Chip is blowing his bubbles! I don’t care that I’m 20 years old this hanger is definitely going on my door!

IMG_1240

I’ll tell you now, ever since I have discovered FlickerInk I have been wanting one of their candles big time, and now I have one! It’s called ‘Mermaid Lagoon’ and is the scent ‘Tropical Splash’, but could also be translated as perfection! Literally one of the most beautiful smelling candles I have ever encountered and whenever I sniff it, I get instantly transported to a beach in the Caribbean and it’s beyond perfection!

IMG_1251

Again, something I have always wanted but have never got. I always see these bookmarks on Instagram and I always get so envious as I want one so bad! This particular bookmark was created by Penguin Co and is an exclusive like all the items in this box. If there’s one thing I love more than bookmarks, it’s maps, so this is literally perfect for me and I can not wait to use it in one of my books!

IMG_1257

I’m not quite sure whether these are promotional or not, all I know is that they relate to something called ‘Taste of Blue Light’ and the designs and are beautiful. They are going to make the loveliest additions to my print wall and could also be used as postcards if ever I felt like it.

IMG_1262

Some people dislike promotional items, but I personally am a huge fan of them. Anything about books and I am in! This is a giant poster for a new book by Macmillan called Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith.

IMG_1252

Another promotional item – a badge for a recently published book called ‘The Gender Games: The Problem with Men and Women, from Someone Who Has Been Both’ by Juno Dawson and James Dawson. A very cute little badge which I am eager to find a home for, either on a tote bag or a jacket. IMG_1260

In this months box we recieved two books; one of them being this ARC of ‘The Waking Land’ by Callie Bates which comes with a bookmark, author letter and a book plate (I actually didn’t get a bookplate so I may email about that). Here is the Goodreads link to it so you can have a look. I am very excited to read it as it is something I am 100% into, and is released June 27th.

IMG_1255

The other book we got in this box was ‘Truth or Dare’ by Non Pratt. It is a story about friendship, secret identities and internet fame – something I don’t read a lot of but always end up devouring within a day! It seems like the perfect summer read and I’m very much looking forward to reading. The book is signed which is fantastic, and comes with a letter from the author!
Goodreads summary is here.

 

So there we have it, my very first Illumicrate! I was super impressed by this box and loved everything it – it was very well constructed and thought out. I won’t be getting the August box as I can’t afford it currently, but once I am able to I am 100% going to be getting further boxes! What was your favourite item in the box? Mine has got to be that beautiful Feyre mug!

Thank you once again for sticking around and I hope you’re all having a wonderful day!
Zoe

6 thoughts on “May Illumicrate Unboxing

  1. That Beauty and the Beast art print is quite possibly the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I can’t say I’ve heard of the featured book but it does sound like a good summer contemporary. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

